Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited (the "**Hong Kong Stock Exchange**") take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.

We have one class of shares, and each holder of our shares is entitled to one vote per share. As the Alibaba Partnership's director nomination rights are categorized as a weighted voting rights structure (the "**WVR structure**") under the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on the Hong Kong Stock Exchange, we are deemed as a company with a WVR structure. Shareholders and prospective investors should be aware of the potential risks of investing in a company with a WVR structure. Our American depositary shares, each representing eight of our shares, are listed on the New York Stock Exchange in the United States under the symbol BABA.



## VOLUNTARY ANNOUNCEMENT

## VOTING RESULTS OF 2020 ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

At Alibaba Group Holding Limited's (the "**Company**") annual general meeting of shareholders held on September 30, 2020 (the "**AGM**"), the Company's shareholders:

- amended and restated the Company's memorandum and articles of association to expressly permit completely virtual shareholders' meetings and reflect the Company's share capital following the share subdivision that was approved by shareholders at the annual general meeting of shareholders held on July 15, 2019 and became effective on July 30, 2019;
- elected each of Maggie Wei Wu, Kabir Misra and Walter Teh Ming Kwauk to serve as Group III director for a three year term, or until their successors are elected or appointed or duly qualified; and
- ratified the appointment of PricewaterhouseCoopers as the Company's independent registered public accounting firm for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2021.

A total of approximately 20 billion ordinary shares, including those underlying ADSs, representing approximately 93% of the ordinary shares issued and outstanding as of August 17, 2020, the record date, were present in person or by proxy at the AGM. The results of the votes are as follows:

|                                      | For            |       | Against       |       | Abstain    |      |
|--------------------------------------|----------------|-------|---------------|-------|------------|------|
| Resolutions                          | Votes          | %     | Votes         | %     | Votes      | %    |
| Amended and restated memorandum      |                |       |               |       |            |      |
| and articles                         | 19,893,523,656 | 99.2% | 123,086,160   | 0.6%  | 33,127,649 | 0.2% |
| Election of Directors                |                |       |               |       |            |      |
| Maggie Wei Wu (Group III)            | 16,067,781,300 | 80.2% | 3,948,202,304 | 19.7% | 27,446,885 | 0.1% |
| Kabir Misra (Group III)              | 16,296,021,915 | 81.3% | 3,724,869,430 | 18.6% | 27,824,044 | 0.1% |
| Walter Teh Ming Kwauk (Group III)    | 19,469,467,572 | 97.1% | 547,977,448   | 2.7%  | 30,215,468 | 0.2% |
| Ratification of appointment          |                |       |               |       |            |      |
| of PricewaterhouseCoopers as         |                |       |               |       |            |      |
| Independent Registered Public        |                |       |               |       |            |      |
| Accounting Firm for Fiscal Year 2021 | 19,688,452,728 | 98.2% | 328,993,912   | 1.6%  | 31,351,021 | 0.2% |

Daniel Zhang, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, as the person designated by the Company, was granted a discretionary proxy by Citibank, N.A., the depositary of the ADSs, pursuant to the Deposit Agreement governing the ADSs, to vote the ordinary shares underlying approximately 708.7 million ADSs for which no voting instructions were given by the holders, and he exercised the discretionary proxy to vote in favor of each of the proposals submitted for shareholder approval at the AGM.

By order of the Board Alibaba Group Holding Limited Timothy A. STEINERT Secretary

Hong Kong, September 30, 2020

As at the date of this announcement, our board of directors is comprised of Mr. Daniel Yong ZHANG as the chairman, Mr. Joseph C. TSAI, Ms. Maggie Wei WU, Mr. J. Michael EVANS, Mr. Eric Xiandong JING and Mr. Kabir MISRA as directors, and Mr. Chee Hwa TUNG, Mr. Walter Teh Ming KWAUK, Mr. Jerry YANG, Mr. E. Börje EKHOLM and Ms. Wan Ling MARTELLO as independent directors.