Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



## POSTAL SAVINGS BANK OF CHINA CO., LTD. 中國郵政儲蓄銀行股份有限公司

(A joint stock limited liability company incorporated in the People's Republic of China)

(Stock Code: 1658)

## NOMINATION OF DIRECTOR OF THE BANK

The Board of Directors (the "**Board**") of Postal Savings Bank of China Co., Ltd. (the "**Bank**") held a meeting on January 2, 2025 and considered and approved the proposal on the nomination of Mr. Yang Yong as the candidate of Independent Non-executive Director of the Bank. The proposal on the election of Mr. Yang Yong as Independent Non-executive Director of the Bank will be submitted to the shareholders' general meeting of the Bank for consideration. The qualification of Mr. Yang Yong as Director is subject to the approval by the National Financial Regulatory Administration and his term of office as Director will be three years commencing from the date of approval of his qualification by the National Financial Regulatory Administration.

The profile of Mr. Yang Yong is set out as follows:

Yang Yong, male, Hong Kong permanent resident with Chinese nationality, born in 1975, obtained a doctoral degree in Accounting from Northwestern University in the United States of America and is a Certified Public Accountant. He has received honorary titles such as Outstanding Fellow of the Faculty of Business Administration of The Chinese University of Hong Kong, and received the Distinguished Contributions to Accounting Literature Award 2022 by American Accounting Association. He was a member of the Advisory Committee (2022-2023) of the Association of Chartered Certified Accountants in the Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao Greater Bay Area (ACCA GBA), and a member of the editorial boards of The Accounting Review, China Accounting and Finance Review, China Journal of Accounting Studies, etc. He is currently the Director of the School of Accountancy and Professor of Accounting at The Chinese University of Hong Kong, and Chair Professor (Honorary) of the Management School of Jinan University.

As at the date of this announcement, as far as the directors of the Bank are aware and save as disclosed in this announcement, Mr. Yang Yong did not hold any directorship in other public companies the securities of which are listed on any securities market in the Chinese mainland, Hong Kong or overseas in the past three years. He has no other relationship with any director, supervisor, senior management, substantial shareholder or controlling shareholder of the Bank. He does not hold any other positions in the Bank or any of its subsidiaries, nor does he have any interest in the shares of the Bank or its associated corporations within the meaning of Part XV of the Securities and Futures Ordinance of Hong Kong.

Mr. Yang Yong has confirmed (i) his independence as regards each of the factors referred to in Rule 3.13(1) to (8) of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited (the "Hong Kong Listing Rules"); (ii) that he does not have any past or present financial or other interest in the business of the Bank or its subsidiaries or any connection with any core connected person of the Bank (as defined in the Hong Kong Listing Rules); and (iii) that there are no other factors that may affect his independence at the time of his nomination. The Board is also of the opinion that Mr. Yang Yong has met the independence guidelines set out in Rule 3.13 of the Hong Kong Listing Rules and is independent in accordance with the terms of the guidelines.

The remuneration of Mr. Yang Yong shall be implemented in accordance with the relevant resolution of the 2019 Annual General Meeting of Shareholders of the Bank on the Proposal on the Remuneration Adjustment Plan of Independent Non-executive Directors of Postal Savings Bank of China. For details of the remuneration, please refer to the annual report published by the Bank in due course.

Save as disclosed above, there is no other information in relation to the appointment of Mr. Yang Yong that shall be disclosed pursuant to the requirements set out in Rule 13.51(2)(h) to (v) of the Hong Kong Listing Rules, nor are there any other matters that need to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Bank.

By order of the Board **Postal Savings Bank of China Co., Ltd. Du Chunye** Joint Company Secretary

Beijing, the PRC January 2, 2025

As at the date of this announcement, the Board of the Bank comprises Mr. Liu Jianjun and Ms. Yao Hong as Executive Directors; Mr. Han Wenbo, Mr. Chen Donghao, Mr. Liu Xin'an, Mr. Zhang Xuanbo, Mr. Hu Yuting, Mr. Ding Xiangming and Mr. Yu Mingxiong as Non-executive Directors; Mr. Wen Tiejun, Mr. Chung Shui Ming Timpson, Ms. Pan Yingli, Mr. Tang Zhihong and Mr. Hong Xiaoyuan as Independent Non-executive Directors.

\* Postal Savings Bank of China Co., Ltd. is not an authorized institution within the meaning of the Banking Ordinance (Chapter 155 of the Laws of Hong Kong), not subject to the supervision of the Hong Kong Monetary Authority, and not authorized to carry on banking and/or deposit-taking business in Hong Kong.